To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The statement states that if someone wants to understand the main aspects of societies and their characteristics, he must look closely at their major cities. While a lot of people would agree with this statement because major cities usually contain large number of people and they would reflect their traditions and characteristics to the environment around them. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement for many reasons.

Tourism is relatively high in major cities compared to other cities in a country. That leads those cities to be biased to what tourists would want or buy and that doesn’t show any characteristics of it’s original people. At the end any country would want to increase the number of tourists that visit their cities. So those cities start to change eventually to what satisfies the tourist instead of emitting its own color.

For instance, Japanese people don’t eat weird food of bugs and other things. But because it’s a popular misconception about them, they went with the vibe and started doing those things for the tourists. Which satisfied those tourists and led to an increase in the number of tourist. As well as, increasing revenue for those people who sells those foods.

Moreover, judging a whole society based on what one city, is crucial and unjust for the original people of the country. Usually society’s characteristics can be represented by a rainbow. It’s beauty is in its variety. If you only look at one city, even if it was a major one you would only see one color only and you will miss the whole picture. Communities and people in general have a lot of different characteristics to offer and if you wanted to see those you must zoom out and see the bigger picture. For instance judging the US by looking at New York will lead the person to miss all the beauty that is hidden in the rural side like Arkansas with its rivers and natural beauty.