Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing
viewpoint.
Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting
views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.
As an undergraduate college student, I have come to understand that many of my
peers are very emotionally attached to their opinions and political viewpoints. While
a gut reaction may tell you that what you believe is correct, that initial instinct is not
sufficient in backing up an opinion or idea. In a court of law, or in a debate, one must
use rational reasoning and clear, specific examples when arguing a side. Oftentimes,
one does not realize how well (or, conversely, how little) one knows a subject until
those ideas are challenged. It is through debate, and through the process of being
challenged by an opposing viewpoint, that one really begins to understand why they
believe what they believe, and how intellectually sound those reasons are.
Many times, over the course of my education, I have come into contact with those
whose viewpoints differ from my own. I consider myself to be a person with an open
mind, and I enjoy debate with others who value different sides of an argument than I
do. In those conversations with others, it is easy to tell who is educated on a topic, and
who has had a gut, emotional reaction to the issue being discussed. Those who know
about the topic use specific examples to explain why they feel the way they do. Those
who don’t sometimes resort to more emotional persuasive methods, and sometimes
the discussion can become heated.
It is through discussions such as these that I have been able to shape my own
opinions and viewpoints on current social issues. I appreciate being challenged
by my peers or someone who is “playing devil’s advocate” because, through that
process, I am able to really examine the motives behind my beliefs. Sometimes, I
have encountered discussions that have led me to realize that I simply do not know
enough about a topic to hold a valid discussion about it. Other times, I have realized
that I am well-versed on the subject, and my opinion or viewpoint is logically sound.
While I agree that this process of challenge is valuable in the formation and upholding
of personal viewpoints and opinions, I do not believe that a person should enter into a
conversation with the specific purpose of persuading others to change their opinions.
Opinions are highly personal, and each person has a reason to believe what they do. It
is valuable to question beliefs and opinions, but it is not constructive to feel that your
opinion is best and others need to believe what you believe or be considered wrong. I
think that there must exist a balance between questioning the beliefs of others and being
able to understand why other people believe what they believe. It is more important
to be able to understand another person’s perspective on a subject than it is to change
their mind. In other words, you may disagree with someone, but it is important to be
able to see why they believe what they believe. This promotes a well-roundedness that is
important in intellectual discussion, and, indeed, in many areas of life.
Though the best test of an argument is challenge (and the subsequent ability to meet
the challenge of defense or question the validity of the original opinion), I do not necessarily
believe that the challenge must involve convincing someone with an opposing viewpoint
that you are correct. You may challenge the idea of others—and be challenged—without
feeling as though you must change the minds of others. While discussion of this type may
result in changing someone’s mind, I don’t believe that that should be the goal. The goal
of such a discussion should be to share thoughts and ideas, to uphold your own ideas, and
to challenge ideas that may be based on emotion or instinct. In this way, we may grow
intellectually in an amiable way without stunting the growth of those around us.