Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

We humans crave for direction and role models for our utopian desires. The definition of utopia is differentiable for everyone. Certainly, studying about the choice of role models for a population reveals a lot about its mindset. Perhaps, copious information that is revealed by the choice of role models is indeed enough to judge the character of a general population.

Narendra Modi, prime minister of India is instilling in the minds of the populace a retreat from democracy with his right-wing ideology. So far, a myriad of people respect his ideology and the young generation has made him an epitome of what the role of prime minister should be. People are supporting him, no matter the damge and tumult caused by his actions such as the temple-mosque dispute has inflamed the fight on religious grounds. Belligerent youngsters have already caused much damage and clearly, the influence of role model - Modi, is highly significant. Therefore, the choice of role model is a key factor in determining the mentality and character of the nation.

Nietzsche, one of the greatest german philosopher has had a very strong impact on his readers. One of the most prominent name who read his work and idealized him was Hilter. Hilter's ideal was Nietzche and his work pushed him towards anarchy. therefore the influence our role model may have on us is too ineffable. Surely, the highest ideals are revealed by our role models and we as a fanatic follow them to create our character, hence, choice of role model certainly reveals a lot about the character of a person and taking this influence of role model over horde, the character of a society.

The decision regarding the people's choice of role model revealing the character of a society logic may sometimes not be the benchmark method because it largely depends on the choice we make. Although historical instances reflect the human nature for practically worshipping the ideals, therefore people may sometimes make a different choice in that case the claim fails but for a majority of scenarios, the claims hold true.

To conclude the claim and the reason both are based on a very general pattern established about human nature over a long period of time, Hence the approach described in the claim is indeed the best in the majority of cases.