An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author's numerous assumptions supporting his/her position are unwarranted. Firstly, the cost of new breed of millet is a concern and the fact whether the subsidies from the government will be enough for supporting the farmers. Secondly, just because millet is a staple food, this fact alone cannot be implicit in confirming the consumption of a new breed of millet as they may differ. Thirdly, to combat vitamin A deficiency, millet is not the sole way. Hence, government of Tagus can adopt various other measures like campign or subsidary on vitamin A medicine.

New breed of millet high in vitamin A is costly, therefore it is although helpful that farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new millet but the author does not mention anything which even remotely justifies the fact that tht subsidies are surfiet to cover farming expenditure. Even if the author's assumption is warranted, then also the cost of the new breed millet will anyways be more than the cost of old breed, hence why would the people of nation which is already impoverished purchase the new vitamin A rich millet. My point being that the foremost thing is keeping food on the table of the inhabitants of Tagus rather than coping with the deficiency. Hence, the author claim although supports the conclusion but leaves a wide gap assumption which weaken his/her stance.

Even if the cost is not a problem and the government is indeed able to provide high breed millet at low cost while taking care of farmers with subsidies, There is no evidence to show that the vitamin A rich millet can actually help in eradicating the deficiency. The fact that millet is the staple food is not a good enough reason to develop a new vitamin A rich millet, Further scientific examples or experimentation is required to justify the author's claim.

Finally, the author mentions that for tackling vitamin A deficiency, the government should strongly promote the new millet as if it is the only way to tackle the situation. This makes the author's logic formation based on false premises as a lot of other things can be done just as launching campaigns to treat the deficiency, introducing high subsidies on medicine etc. Therefore, the author shifts his/her focus from providing a solution to proving that his/her solution is correct. Hence, the author fails to provide a warranted solution to the problem.