Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Politcal leaders are cynosure of whole country. Accountable to the people of the country for their actions, which need to be very deliberate. Children and youth of a country look upto their political leader and if these political leader do not stick to their principles, they set bad examples which cannot be good for the country. Effectiveness as a concept should be considered for long term rather than full-filling short term goals. Although, sometimes there is a neccessity for principles to be compromised, but whenever these compromises occur , it comes at a great cost.

Reliability is the key in effective functioning of the government and country. Leaders can't be relied if they do not have principles. Hugh Hefner bribed officals in the New york city for opening his club against his principles, it was something which had to be done for sustaining the business. Intially the business did well but after an investigation Hefner was charged with bribery - led to reduction in sales of his magzines and damaged his reputation. Men and youth considered him as an epitome of a man with principles. Ultimately, if you break your own principles to keep the boat afloat it is going to damage your reputation and the effectiveness which you were trying to achieve in the first place.

If leaders observe that they can get things done via unprincipled means, it corrupts the system, makes it more venal. Political leaders are liable for effective functioning of country. The cycle of venality orginates at very top with political leaders as a requirement of effectiveness but it serves to only worsen the situation - sounds ironic as attempts into improve the effectiveness leads to lack of effectiveness.

During the Rahul Gandhi era, People were suffering in the government offices. Long queues of angry people waiting for pensions, Driving License registration and other government related problems. Even after patiently waiting people were not able to get their work done as major percentage of employees working in govenrment sector require bribes to work. But, the election of Modi,being a principled man served to eradicate this bribery from the system and today almost everybody looks at their Prime minister with respect. The country is prospering today in all the sectors whether it may be food , education , Business etc. . All of this is achieved because of Modi's will power to do the right thing.

Compromises in principles may assist in achieving short terms goals , but sooner or later there is a price which every unprincipled leader has to pay. Construction of bridges with low quality raw material has become the cause of collapse in bridges, thousands of innocent tax paying people suffer because of the compromise in principles. In short term it supported people by spillting the traffic , but the bridge collapsed at the end.