In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should be required to step down after five years.

The need for novelty can never surpass experience. Many people in charge are at the position of power due to their aplomb. Though it is true with age we humans tend to lose our savvy, but that doesn't imply that people in power should step down after five years.

If, Steve Jobs, perhaps the best CEO of apple, would have stepped down after five years of his power, Would Apple be such a big tech company? He was responsible for making Apple the most profitable company in 2012. His ability to understand the need of customers, in my opinion, made apple the way we see it today, as an epitome of sophistication and hard work. Apple even replaced him with John Sculley, a marketing expert. however, the decline in share value shows us exactly, the value that steve jobs added to Apple. Hence, people in power should not be required to step-down if their results are revealing the contrary.

Abraham Lincoln, one of the best leaders and politicians of the US target the same agenda. America was in a big quandary after his death about who would replace him. The leader will age and would have to eventually leave there position to a successor, but doing it after a span of five years is a reckless notion. The premise which can be attacked here is what if the person in charge is not performing well, then it may be partially correct to change in five years, but even then generalizing the notion based on a small number of cases is not viable. Hence, the contrary notion of people in power not being required to step down gains more weightage.

Maxwell's contribution to magnetism and electric is unparalleled as we see it today, notwithstanding the fact that his theory was found wanting until it was coupled with the idea of Lorentz force. Hence, people can be wrongly adjudicated in a short period of time, everybody including the seemingly incompetent leaders, researchers, politicians, etc. must be at least given a good though before any notion regarding their stepping down is debated.

In conclusion, while the argument may be correct in specific cases, it cannot be considered ubiquitously true and general for all the cases. Therefore, people in power should not be required to step down after five years.