"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia

The author fails to account for numerous inconsistencies which may be interpreted from the argument like firstly, same chemical family compounds can imply that there are certain similarities between Salicylates and aspirin, but the author fails to provide detailed reasoning such as chemical composition or detailed study. Instead, secondly, the author further premises the "same chemical family" reason to justify the decline in headache in study and presenting facts such as many foods are naturally rich in salicylates - This further makes his/her position more refutable. Thirdly, the author leaves room for doubt by introducing a fact which although allows increased usage of salicylates but fails to state the reason for the decline in headaches.

If two compounds belong to a same chemical family, it doesn't imply that they would have all the same properties. Surely, we can agree on the fact that it is good for health because many foods are rich naturally rich in salicylates and the author maybe correct in assuming that indeed salicylates and aspririn are similar in their curative properties, But the author fails to provide any information to support that fact. Hence , the fact mentioned by author weakens his/her position rather than supporting it.

Further , the author uses a 20-year study which correlates the salicylates usage with a steady decline in average number of headaches reported . But the fact that the study is 20 years old doesn't justify that salicylates are the only factor. Further author is talking about reporting headaches , a steady decline can even imply that some new drug more efficient than aspirin or salicylates is responsible for the decline.

Assuming that the premise about the salicylates is true, the author stills fails to provide the evidence for "the more the salicylates in the food the better it would be at curing headaches". Maybe the excess of salicylates would damage the body even if it cures headaches. There is no concrete evidence to suggest otherwise.

Since, the argument lacks on multiple accounts, the conclusion lacks validity. Therefore, argument is spurious.