An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Arguments fails to warrant on numerous fronts. Firstly, it fails to justify the severity of the deficency.What portion of the Tagus population is suffering from this deficiency. Secondly, it fails to justify whether the impact that the new breed of of millet will be adequate to deal with the problem. Author also fails to mention whether these subsidies are concomitant with high of cost of new millets. Finally, millet being a staple food does not justify whether the breed will be accepted in a similar manner.

The severity of the defciency plays a key role in determining the viability of producing this Vitamin A rich food. Some number or summary statistics is necessary before any costly measure is taken. Even if statistics are presented to justify the condition, the need for new breed is not justified because of other factors like cost and prior breed of millets.

Are the subsidies enough to compensate for the cost? The subisidies are based on the fact new breed millets will sell for tackling the deficiency. But this is based on the assumption that the taste of the old millets and new millets will be similar or they will possess similar charcteristics. The authors assumption on the similarity between the two types of millets weakens his position. Strengthen the conclusion requires some evidence justifying the fact that people will be equally consume the new breed as they used to consume the older breed.

Consequently, if the sale is of the new breed is not equal to the old breed, then the subsidies which are planned to manage the expenses to grow the new breed will fall short. Which only serves to further weaken the conclusion.

Hence, the argument fails to adequately account for the various assumption which if do not hold true weaken the argument.