People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers

rationalization of decisions based on emotion isn't something that we are unfamiliar with. The controversiality of debate itself is pompous. What makes a decision poor? Does it have something to do with improper analysis while taking a decision? Emotions and intuition are strong influencing elements in the decision making process in human beings. Some things cannot be measured therefore are best dealt with intuition. Justification of the same with logic creates an argument for the decision maker to trust the process. It has nothing to do with poor decision makers.

Why was Apple able to become the most profitable company in the year 2012? Steve Jobs believed in the idea of emotionally taking the decision as it allowed the users to connect with the design which was created with a matching idea. Clearly, his decision served his company well. In interviews he justified and explained the need to take such influential decisions with emotion. Ultimately, taking the decision emotionally allows us to justify it with logic because in mot cases these decisions are beneficial therefore this paradigm of taking decisions emotionally can produce something that leaves a mark and reminds us not to blindly trust logic.

Poor Decision makers are the ones who aren't able to act on their decisions. No matter the decision might me taken with a emotional or logical stance , if you can't act on it, it is bound to be a poor decision. For example a person with maladroitity wants to to learn ballet takes a decision based on emotion to pursue the vocation. Logically this decision is flawed. But, the will power to act counts significantly in determining the success rate of a decision. If this person is not willing to go through to drudgery then of course whether her decision is warranted with logic or not.

Justification of emotions is a method of expressing the power of intuition. We often fail to understand that the emotions are an aspect part of our life and play a huge impact in decision making. This is what makes us different than the computer machines which are known to take decision based on logic and are always assumed to be correct. for instance the solution proposed by a artificial intelligence to deal with spam mails is to kill the people who spam - logically being correct, but humanely it isn't.

In conclusion, emotions play a key role in our lives and separate us from the logical machines which are ruthless, hence justification of the emotion is fine as long as it fulfilling its intended purpose.