Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Political leaders are cynosure of whole country. Accountable to the people of the country for their actions, which need to be very deliberate. Children and youth of a country look up to their political leader and if these political leader do not stick to their principles, they set bad examples which cannot be good for the country. Effectiveness as a concept should be considered for long term rather than full-filling short term goals. Although, sometimes there is a necessity for principles to be compromised, but whenever these compromises occur , it comes at a great cost.

Reliability is the key in effective functioning of the government and country. Leaders can't be relied if they do not have principles. Hugh Hefner bribed officials in the New york city for opening his club against his principles, it was something which had to be done for sustaining the business. initially the business did well but after an investigation Hefner was charged with bribery - led to reduction in sales of his magazines and damaged his reputation. Men and youth considered him as an epitome of a man with principles. Ultimately, if you break your own principles to keep the boat afloat it is going to damage your reputation and the effectiveness which you were trying to achieve in the first place.

If leaders observe that they can get things done via unprincipled means, it corrupts the system, makes it more venal. Political leaders are liable for effective functioning of country. The cycle of venality originates at very top with political leaders as a requirement of effectiveness but it serves to only worsen the situation - sounds ironic as attempts into improve the effectiveness leads to lack of effectiveness.

The cost of compromising the principles is too high and this cost overshadows its merits. Principles are primacy for leading a country as leader has the responsibility of improving the country in all aspects.