College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Statistically, smart decision for students is to pick the field with high availability of jobs. Job security is the main reason for spending so much time and money in order to select a college with high quality education and job placements. This approach for short period say 2 years after graduation is fine but problem arises when we look to prospectus of the jobs. As the number of jobs are increases, the competition for high paid jobs is also augments. Therefore the simple assurity of getting a job is not enough, there are other factors which play a significant role in creating an urbane life.

"the only way to do great work, is to love what you do" - a trite from the great Steve Jobs fits perfectly to explain that for selecting field of study, the most important thing is to be passionate about it. Everything else is secondary. A talented tennis player ending up as an accountant for a company that doesn't value his talent is a waste. The tennis player who decided to pursue accounting because of job opportunities suffers from regret as he settled when he could have been the next Nadal or Fedrer. Ultimately, job availability is important but while selecting a field which is going to determine rest of life, we should give more priority to our predilections.

Assuming the fact that due to high job availability , everybody gets a job. But, Do these jobs offer enough salary? or Will these jobs provide appraisals and rise? Being a computer Science major , i am perfectly able to understand this situation as people join firms hoping to climb the hierarchical ladder to reach the apotheosis end up at the same place after 5 years. Now this may be due to their lack of talent or seriousness or any other reason. Therefore, high availability jobs is not the only factor to consider even if we are getting pulled towards job oriented thinking, as promotion is also an equally important fact to consider.

Highly competitive jobs are actually taken by cream of students who are actually passionate about their vocations, rest of them have to settle for the low paying jobs. Which implies that the job availability may be high but passion again plays a significant role in associating sucess with vocations. Consequently , the productive value of the low-paid employees also increases which points us towards the problem of job satisfaction. One of the key problem currently faced by employees in india. The companies are looking for enthusiastically avid workers to improve the value and increase productivity but the contradictory scenario is actually happening.

Most that we can get out of using the job availability approach is ensuring employment, Nevertheless other factors like job satisfaction, predilections and appraisals are cardinal to live a opulent lifestyle.

In conclusion, job availability can be one of factor in determining the field of study other factors are more cardinal and therefore should given the required contemplation.