Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Funds by government need to be judiciously managed for the country to progress whether it is is in terms of science, infrastructure,education, resources etc. Therefore the risks or consequences of performing a scientific research if known before hand can be of cardinal advantage to the country.

Risk analysis in any field plays an important role , whether we are creating a software, constructing a building or doing research. Risk analysis helps in assesment of the consequences to decide whether the juice is worth the squeeze or not. Oppenheimer research in nuclear elements gave mankind the most destructive weapon on the planet. he spent the rest of his years touting against its use. Therefore the consequence of research can be devestating and if initally his funds would have been cut, we would have been living in a world without atomic bomb. Therefore, if the consequnces of such an invention were known it would have benefited the society more.

Government needs to manage funds in such a way that every vocation can progress for overall development of country .Therefore, Analyzing the consequences before hand is beneficial to other fields. Sometimes the outcome of a research can be nothing , which puts pressure on the government - research for altenative fuels in space has been going downhill and the funding required for pursuing such a research is grandiloquent. These funds could be used in construction of public schools which would have increased the literacy rate on a long term basis therefore realization about ramifications before they occur can be beneficial to society .

Resreach can benefit the society, but the estimation of the harm it may or may not do is important. The Resources and funds our limited, not only ramifications can help in risk analysis but it can also help in preventing economic tragedies like hyper-inflations. As the government controls the currency, if the funds are spent, they have to print more money in order to overcome and support society which ultimately impacts the society in a negative way , the amount of stuff that we could buy for 10 $ has reduced in last 20 years. Therefore the problem of funding is much bigger, the student loans are piling up and the economic state has taken the shape of a bubble , if this bubble bursts recession will strike. Hence, research funding as well as other fundings should be granted based on their consequences.

Although, sometimes it is difficult to anticipate the ramifications of complex sceintific research before hand because of the arcane nature of the job. Still having a little bit of inkling about the ramifications can save millions.

In conclusion, it is important to understand the consequences before granting funds as funds are the key to all tasks.