Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Why do i have to study subjects that aren't gonna help me in achieving what i want ? This question pops up in every student's mind sometime during school years as well as college years. Education is supposed to enlighten our minds. Although, In the middle of getting tired of the mundane routine, attending classes for completing the formal education we all become so apathetic to very notion of education itself. In spite of making us apathetic, formal education assists us in preparing for life outside the school where everybody has to perform the same task for the most part of the year in order to keep the boat afloat.

Formal education hinders our ability to be creative. It teaches us to to stick to the rules, pass courses, get a job and work like a slave. Most of the great thinkers, from Einstein to steve jobs, understood that to really make a difference in other people lives and free our mind we need to focus more on the things which we really want. The amount of load in gaining a formal education is so cumbersome that people tend to lose the sight of their predilections and spend most of the time in adjusting to the system of formal education.

What is the point of studying maths for a student who wants to be an artist? In the contemporary world, Formal education is a necessity for getting a job. But People who are actually skilled suffer if they do not have an formal education. There is no assurance that someone with a formal education has the skills , just having a fancy degree allows them to get a good job. Ulitmately, formal education may help , but we deprieve ourselves of true potential by relying on a degree and not championing people for their skills.

Our minds and spirit can be veraciously free when we are able to appreciate what we do. A sense of satisfaction is induced in people's mind when they are actually happy in doing their jobs. The efficiency of a person is automatically augmented and these people tend to contribute to society. But , for all this to happen the formal education system needs to be flexible enough to allow everyone to explore themselves.

Inspite of many improvements required in the current formal education system, it does offer everyone with equal opportunity to atleast meet their own needs and survive in these times but it restricts our ability to free our minds and spirits. Therefore all though formal education has merits but these merits do not outweigh the demerits of formal education.