In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Regarding communication we all have developed a perception that talking allows us to solve imbroglio. Similarly discussion favors a solution ,whether it is towards progress or not depends on various factors. Sometimes the circumstances cannot progress even with the discussions between counterparts. Kashmir dispute between india and pakistan being a concrete example for the same.

Communication does little to solve our problems. One of the cardinal example of this is Britain's withdrawal from EU. Currency - pound was severely affected. The Brexit incited the notion of withdrawal by caluminating the officials of EU in Austria. Although the problems in London were due to lack of local negligence but brexit incited the discussion which led to many debates between the supporters and the naysayers, Tabloids were influential enough to draw the public which has now led to difficulties for England's citizens. Therefore, discussion between contrapositive opnions can sometimes take a downhill path which stymie's the progress rather than augmenting it.

When a discussion between two counterpart is initiated. There is no guarantee that a consensus will be reached. Sometimes this discussions tends to go on, while the resources are profligated and this hinders the progress. Suppose Samsung plans to launch the so talked about foldable smartphones, the discussion between the employees is initiated regarding the lifetime of such devices, One side argues that the foldable phone won't last long due to the regular folding and unfolding mechanism , others suggest that folding phones are going to arrive in the market so they should be one to carry over the product to the market. Meanwhile the enigneers are waiting and wasting their time to support each side and the resources are being wasted. Therefore, sometimes discussion may allow progess but the amount of time the discussion lasts also becomes a key factor in determining the need of discussion and subsequently the cost of reaching the consensus.

the world of football is often similar to these discussions between the pundits with disparate opinions. Neymar - the current cynosure of footballing pundits, discussions regarding his suitability to Barcelona football club is proceeding but whether the juice may be worth the squeeze or not totally depends on the result. This is chance Barcelona must be willing to take. Therefore rather than discussions sometimes going forward with an approach can also save us time which would more viable since discussions do not always lead to consensus.