Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals

Great names in various fields whether it is technology, politics or business tend to leave a very strong impression on the people of their society. Steve Jobs influence on the natives of silicon valley was huge, every second child in the Palo Alto area looked at him as a role model. But, motivation and character determination of society are two different things. In spite of role models and heroes influence on people of the society it can not be justified that, they can decide the character of society as a whole.

Idiosyncracy of role models is the cynosure, role models can be erratic and many of them work to maintain their semblance. Entrenching a perception about the character of society based on this semblance is not warranted. Michael Jackson contributed to the society with his altruistic deeds, but one can not neglect the drug abuse. Therefore, in a myriad of cases, role models do not show society's highest ideals.

Rather than relying on role models for character determination of society , more light must be thrown on history or trend - these factors can statistically tell more about society's character. Looking at the past robberies in a society or drawing conclusions about trend of economy or running surveys for preferences in a society can be better indicators. Colombian drug lord Pablo Escobar has without a doubt influenced colombian people, but his behaviour and character does reveal anything about people of colombia.

Role models are people. Spending more hours on work everyday can sometimes take a toll , although they are trying stand up to the people and do the right thing. Being a role model can be exhausting and examining the character of tired person cannot be warranted measure in determiningthe character of the population as a whole.

Exemplars can be very influential to the society, but they cannot be considered as a correct estimate in determining the character of the society.