Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

n every class, there are students who follow the instructions of the teachers and those who deliberately show intransigent behaviour. Therefore, Academic performance is much more dependent on individuals and not the performance of teachers. Surely, some teachers may show perfunctory behaviour towards students and may not deserve high salaries. But, assuming it to be the teachers fault for poor academic performance is a little to extreme. Students need to carefully think before registering for a course whether it is of interest to them or they are just taking the course to complete their credits.

Teachers can try to incite interest among the apathetic students, but the student needs to be equally participant in the scenario. Just like listening to the lectures in class is not enough to maintain a high academic performance, it requires the student to make an effort on their own to understand the topic. A teacher can be a pundit in their field , but if the students he/she is teaching are not interested, then the academic performance is bound to be a unwarranted measure to estimate salary of the teacher. It can seriously damage the reputation of the teacher as well as institute.

Many other factors can provide a better insight for calculating salary of teachers. The ability of a teacher to empathize with student, showing disinterest in correcting the answers sheets of students, motivating the weaker students of class to improve their performance by giving extra assignments etc. - these factors are far more reliable than academic performance. Academic performance measure can force the teachers to enter spurious marks for getting a consistent salary. Therefore, rather than keeping a check on teacher's performance, academic performance acts as degrading factor for the quality of education.

Primal focus of linking the salary of academic performance to teacher's salary to control and maintain the quality of education but rather than fullfilling this purpose it becomes the cause of degradation in quality of education.

In conclusion, it is important of realize the effect that the academic performance measure might have on teachers which will only serve to detoriate the quality of education.