The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people

Great nation can subsume a lot of things, so the measure for identifying general welfare should be based on a lot of things .People with accolades surely help in boosting the status of a country, but being recognized as a great nations requires more than just a bunch of people like the respect of a private company depends on everybody - from the janitor to the CEO.

Myriad of people form a nation. So relying on venerates for estimating a general welfare is not such a viable choice. Everybody has to play their part veraciously for uplifting a nation. Picturing India every foreign visitor whether traveller, businessman etc. , assumes india to be full of open sewers and dingy slums. Now, Partially this picture of india is true. But,contrary to this belief indian people in contemporary times have achieved a lot of accolades from launching space ships to Mars to publishing some of the finest research papers for which they are commensurately awarded and recognized, but the perception of a first time visitor is always the initial one. This perception being true therefore indicates that few people in a society with accolades cannot be considered as correct measure for determining the general welfare.

Proportion of the achievers to there population also plays a key role. It also indicates the amount of opportunities for all the people in a nation. Discrimination and bias as we know is extant, Equality determines the general welfare with more astuteness than the achievements of a part of population. As india is one of the most diverse country in terms of cast and culture, the question we have to ask ourselves is whether everybody is actually getting the chance to contribute? Because every cast is spread out through the country and when we are talking about the nation's general welfare we have to take this fact into account.

Anything in this world works well when the individual units perform well. If you are using a website which has good graphics and is responsive but the database fails to glean information properly, will you be able to get a astute perception of the website to determine the general working, if you only are flattered by the graphics ? Thus, true estimate can only be known if we consider all parts - good and bad or in this case working or not working.

Although the greats help in overshadowing the darker parts of nation, they would not be able to give us a accurate measure of general welfare.