The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in the government, industry, or any other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition

As soon as we are born, we start to recognize our environment and eventually think of controlling each variable, but that same environment hinders and at the same time pushes us to do more is defined competition. Surely, cooperation is needed up to some extent to coexist in society but competition is something that has been fueling innovation and pushing the human generation forward towards a sustainable and efficient future.

The two big tech giants Apple and Microsoft since their establishment are competing in a developing market to manufacture better products than each other. This healthy competition afforded both Steve Jobs and Bill Gates to become apogees while at the same time contributing to the society by producing state of the art products such the the iphone, microsoft office, microsoft windows. These products today have become an integeral part of our lives , whenever we need to edit documents, most commonly the name of the tool which pops in our head is ' microsoft windows' . Both the CEOs pushed the limit to what can be done with technology fueling each others hungers. Hence, a sense of competition is far more essential than cooperation, people evolve more in an unconducive environment.

Kim Jong Un, the supreme leader of North Korea is unchallenged and receives all the cooperation from the people of his country, the end result of so much cooperation is a lack of improvement. Fear of losing in any competition instills the thought of improving ourselves which helps in evolution. North Korea is, therefore, is a retreating economy and lags behind in resources other than firepower to most countries. Hence, the competition also allows us to look at improving something holistically rather than something that is prim to our interest. Therefore, the best way to prepare young people for leadership roles at the very least is to encourage healthy competition. Here healthy competition implies improving each other in a friendly manner without taking inimical actions.

Research has flourished in the recent years due to the fact that each researcher is competing with each other to get tenure which fuels healthy competition. Hence even though they have to work together cooperatively they have to compete for achieving rewards.

Hence a mix of cooperation and competition is required with more focus on competition to develop the young people so that they can contribute to a