Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than to jsut learn facts

In mathematics, a lot of people manage to get a good grade in elementary school because of their ability to memorize and apply the formula, but these students at a later point face problem in standard aptitude tests like SAT, GRE, CAT etc. On the contrary students who are able to understand the formulation and need of formula do not face such a problem.Therefore understanding concepts helps us in the later stage of life.

Learning and understanding concepts veraciously allows us to come up with new idiosyncratic ideas. Consider Raj a friend of mine who did not face difficulties in the school and graduated with a high GPA, but as his college years passed by and when the placement season began he wasn't able to secure a job on the other hand my friend Rani managed to secure a high paying job and published a few research paper while she was in college. Although, she didn't secure good grades and her marks were mostly average but she spent more time on understanding rather then just memorizing facts. Hence, more importance should be given towards conceptual learning.

People who understand the concepts truly have the freedom to apply these concepts and most of these people tend to leave a mark on world subsequently making signficant contribution to the society. Albert Einstein during his early years faced a lot of difficulties while dealing with standard school curriculum. Things went to south that he managed to get a letter stating that he had been suffering from nervous break down and took a long sabbatical from school. He is considered as one of the most reverent scientist, did he manage to do so by simply learning facts? I don't think so, it was because of his uncanny ability to stay with problems longer than others and understanding with veracity what the concept is about how does it help in explaining the nature.

Learning facts can be boring and mundane as anybody with practice will be able to do so , but understanding it requires more than just practicing. It is difference which seperates the achievers from the average population.

In conclusion, by learning facts we can be abled enough lead a life but true understanding is what sets us apart from the heard.