Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

According to Darwin's theory of evolution , no matter how much we try as time passes we are bound to get extinct. Extinction is the part of evolution, species compete for resources and the one which inures the process becomes the new evolved species. But, we as human are by far the most intelligent beings on the planet and can make effort to save them. Extinction of any species whether significant or minute affects the food chain in negative way, being able to realize that we should save the endangered species irrespective of human activities.

Influence that we - the homo sapiens have on the organisms is very subtle. probability of not knowing about our impact on other organisms is very high. We have created cities and settlements by bulldozing the forests and the natural habitats. We can't possibly have inkling about the these impacts. The bengal tiger has recently joined the list of endangered species, the result of lack of attention towards the issue. In Ranthambore animals like tiger are attacking pastoral's herds for food. As a result the humans are also getting attacked by tigers . Due to rapid urbanization, endangered animals like these have grown to be inimical. Initially the cattle herds have been a integral part of the forest ecosystem, but due to disturbance caused by taming the herds it is becoming unbearable for the people leaving near the forest area. Ultimately, we may or may not intentionally perform activities harming the endangered species , but any modification in the environment has consequences that we have to bear, so we must take actions to prevent the species from getting extinct.

No formal criteria is there to measure the impact that we have on other species's life. Extinction is caused by negligence and it is egregious for us as it stymie's the food chain. The whale commonly being hunted for their creating medicines which are assumed to improve health and immunity. But, can we incur the cost of extinction of the most playful water species. We can stop the killing and hunting but the loss which the water ecosystem has suffered from can't be recovered. Therefore, without assesing the proper cause of damage we can't reach to conclusion of protecting only those species which we think that we have damaged.

During difficult times as depicted in movies like 2012, end of the world or dooms day , we can't be deciding which species should survive and which should die. Every species deserves a chance to survive. Conseqently, we human have done terrible thing to the nature which has been nothing but kind to us. From ozone degradation to extinction we humans have contributed , therefore we can run from the fact by acting evasively but ultimately, it will come back to haunt us in future.

Although, sometimes it is beneficial to leave the nature to evolve on its own and lead to the creation of advanced species, but we won't be able to observe that kind of change so we can't know , which implies that we should take full responsibility to protect whatever number of these endangered species are extant.

In conclusion, Protecting endangered species is a responsibility that the nature has endowed upon us by granting our species with cerebral cortex.