Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

I strongly disagree with the claim statement and reason behind the assertion. Because in our society there are different types of citizens and we can not understand the character of the society by examining only the heroes or role models. There are many contributions of other people who are not role model or hero of these generations.

Firstly, general persons are majority of any country. Among them only few people become role model and people follow them as they are heroes. However, the number of heroes people are limited in our society. So, we can not make decisions to see people follow their heroes or role model. For example in Palan village there are 1 million people follow their role model district chairman honest person . But people are very dishonest and do crime in the village. So we can not ensure the character of the village by knowing the role model of that village .

Secondly, if we examine the society by not only examining the role models but also analizing the generals people of the any country, then we can get appropriate observations about the society and we can learn how these this society treats other people and the values and norms of there majority people which is the correct measurements to decide the character of the society. For instance, when a foreigner come to visit any country, they started making friendship with general people to understand the society character rather than people who choose his or her role model.

Thirdly, speaker also gave a reason that heroes and models reveal society highest ideals . however, there are other hidden ideal person in the world whom are not in front of camera . Their contributions are also great their work has great impact for our society. For example, young teenage follow the role model of actor actress but they don’t have that much contributions for our country compare to general people of any honest teacher who teach poor students with free education. But, these teacher are role model and they are the real ideal of any country.

In sum, we can say that by learning the societies other general people we can know about the character of the society and also we can not make decisions by examining the people choosing the heroes or role model because are limited example of our country. Moreover, all role model is not ideal person and there many person whom are honest and ideal but they are not followed by people.