Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

society is a place where people of the same ideology and culture live. men and women living in it really goes a long way to reflect the real nature of the society in terns of attitude and ideology. Restricting the character of a society to the Heroes and role models that occupy the region is not enough to determine the real nature of the society compare to studying the society in general.

it is said that the prominent people in a region ar said to be those that have achieve hugely in a particular profession but that doesn't mean that their character or attitude will determine how the society is being functioned as a whole.Let's take a look at a prominent musician in nigeria, named; fela Anikulapo Kuti, widely known for scolding the government of the country on their terrible leadership,embezzlement, and other atrocities committed by the then government, through his song. Though,this aspect of fela life was good but if other aspects of his life was not a through nature of how the people of the country behaved back then. among those heinous things he did back then was marrying 28 wives on the same day, smoking on stage, dressing almost nakedly on stage, among other terrible things. if one is to use this to judge Nigerians living in the country during those days or even now, then one might be tending to a wrong path. this

shows

that being a famous person and the attitude of that man or woman doesn't define the through nature of the society.

Furthermore, when it comes to studying a society, we must give consideration to the society as a whole and not selected men and women as this will mislead us into jumping to irrelevant conclusion.For instance, it is assumed that 'ijebus', a tribe in nigeria are stingy due to their past record and frankly speaking, this can't be general as we still have some ijebus that are generous in giving even though isedsome are truly possess that attribute of stinginess . this