Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The arguement is about the unique status of woven baskets that were particular to the vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and because of this, were believed to have been made by the palean people but recent archaeologists discovered such a Palean basket in Lithos which is separated from Palea by a deep and broad river. It was further stated that, only a boat could have crossed the river and know Palean boats have been found. Therefore, because of this, Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. The conclusion drawn from this analysis has some flaws which are discussed as follows.

Firstly, the author has not considered alternative path to Lithos from Palean village. Aside using the boat to get across, there might be other villages that are closer to Palean, which might lead to Lithos. This has not been put into consideration before concluding.

Secondly. that no Palean boats have been found also create some doubts. The boats used in moving from Palean to Lithos for the delivering of the basket might be hidden from the view people. Archaeologists need to do proper findings on that as there is no prove on thorough search from the author's analysis.

Though, the woven baskets might not be that unique to only Palean village, but there must be evidence with regards to this.

In conclusion, the author needs to come up with evidence that they have comb the nook and cranny of Palean village that no boat is there and also needs to create that clearity that no other path leads to Lithos village. Only with this will his conclusion be accepted.