Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Different people have heterogenous opinion about certain beliefs. Some people always stick to what they have been thought right from their tender age and will hardly deviate from it. I agreed with the topic of discussion about people sticking to their beliefs, whoever tries to convince them on the flaws of that beliefs and why they need to change their mindset o it, they prefer to "turn a deaf ear" to that person.

For example, when we talk about religious, people prefer to die with the religious that they have been brought up with, most expecially if such people are extremist of the practice to the core. Trying to convince that kind of people will amount to wasting ones' precious time. For instance, Christains believe that Jesus died on the cross of calvary and arose the third day while Muslims disagreed with that. This has generated lot of controversies among practices of the two religious which they are reluctant to succumb to one another on it.

Scientist believe on the big bang theory that entails the formation of the universe why the two major religious followers believe that the universe came about as a result of words from God. Furthermore, in yoruba land, a tribe in Nigeria, there is this belief that the earth is formed as a result of the command given to Obatala, the son of Oduduwa. This and other accounts on the formation of the universe leads to controversies as people still hold on to their belief till this day.

In addition, there is this saying that, Education is key in ones life and is a path to greatness, success and wealth but som e people will dispute that there are those that do not go to school and are successful as well. They will go on to give numerous examples .

Though, sometimes, we disagree in order to agree and there are reasons we need to enlighten ourselves on certain matter and if proof can follow that enlightenment, those agaist that belief can succumb. For instance, in the ancient days, people believed that the earth is flat and not spherical but this turn out to be false by series of practical observation that went ahead to prove that the earth is actually spherical and not flat. This generated tremendous controversies among religious folllowers and till this day, some people still don't believe the view of the scientist while majority have succumbed.

In conclusion, discussing controversial topics with people that hold opposite belief to the topic in question is either way but mostly, people prefer to stick to their mindset and to what they have been brought up with even though few do succumb after the controversy.