Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Decadence in the society has been on the high in this modern era and leaders of countries should try their possible best to curb this problem. Education is one tool we can use to curb immorality in the society as being able to make morality the foundation of education will be a huge step in curbing immorality in the society, be it formal education or informal education. Teaching foundation of logical is not an ideal way of producing a moral society when compare to education.

When we talk about education as means of producing morality in the society, we talk about both formal and informal means . As we know that all human beings will pass through one form of education in life or the other, making morality the foundation of education at all levels is very significant if we are determined to curb decadence in the society. For instance, nothing will cost us if we have a course that is all about good conduct in the society and the world at large at each level till the university level, as this will go along way in curbing heinous act on the planet and will make each individual to be God fearing and think twice be forming carrying evil act. They can make it in such a way that, the morality course is compulsory and each student must pass it excellently in other for the student to be able to move to the next class. Doing this will make the student to understand the course better and apply it in their daily life.

Also. in informal setting, leaders in the society should make morality topic of discussion and they should endeavor to educate young ones on the significance of good conduct and leaders should also lead by example as this young ones will always look up to them in setting their own standard of behaviour. For instance, the rate at which cases of rape is happening in the southern part of Nigeria is alarming and government keep apprehending the offenders while more cases keep happenings on daily basis. The only way to avoid this heinous act in the future is by introducing moral course in our education system as this will enable upcoming youth to know more on the need to always apply good conduct in wherever they are.

However, teaching foundation of logical reasoning, as a way of producing a moral society cannot be ignored totally as it makes each individual to think deep before acting but this is not a good tool when it comes to eliminating decadence in the society. For instance, an individual that is deeply rooted in a certain belief and has not been educated on why some certain act is good or bad will only act on the belief he knows. No matter how learned he is in the area of logical reasoning, that belief he knows is in him and even though is wrong, he will always act in that direction. For instance, boko haram. a terrorist group in Nigeria believe that western education for both men and women is wrong and should be abolished, also, they furthered that, women should not be allowed to work ,go to school, watch football matches, etc., and any women caught in that act should be killed. They also got involved in several killings of Nigerians, among all other atrocities. That heinous believe has deepen into their system but if morality is introduced as foundation of education, this bad act will reduce and even be non-existent in the future.

In conclusion, morality as foundation of education is sacrosant compare ot logic.