The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

This arguement is about two department stores: Namen and Roscoe a in which the former has high-end designer fashion while the later has more affordable fashion options. Both are considering opening another store in the growing of surburb due to increase in population and also high income on the part of the residents in that area. The two stores need to plan for this very well and ensure that other factors such as interest of the people in that area need to be taken into consideration before taking any decision.

Firstly, interest of people in surburb Salem needs to be consider and Namen department store needs to know that people in that area might not even be ready to pay as high as those in Winston city while this might be favorable to Roscoe department store due to it's affordability fashion option.

Furthermore, opening another store in that area might be favorable to Namen as people in that area might be after high quality fashion and therefore, Roscoe epartment store will lose out in this.

Also, the nature of the work of people in this area need to be put into consideration as they might not be fashion inclined mostly if their profession is highly demanding. They might not have time for any kind of fashion whatsoever and therefore, the two stores will run at a loss on the long run.

In addition, the two stores are really opposite in terms of what they offer. Namen is known for hig-end designer fashion which directly leads to high cost fashion while Roscoe is known for more low cost fashion , this attributes will surely make one fashion store to have more customers than the other and this will bring about unhealthy competition on the part of the stores and on the long run leads to the loss of one store.

In conclusion, thorough research needs to be made by the two stores on the interest of people as regards to fashion, and their profession before making final decison. And also, the two stores can even collude together on whom to open her store in that area after making findings as is certain that one store will have more customers than the other, doing this will give away unheathy competition