Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The understanding of a society character as regards the type of people it chooses as role models is a complex one. In fact, it is not a very delicate and controversial topic. The prompt recommends that the character of role models are an embodiment of true character of the society. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that role models are in fact a reflection of the ideals of a society for three reasons.

To begin, the values of a society affect the choices the people make. Thus, the choice of the society heroes and role models is a product of the value system the society hold in high regard.for instance, A society that values education will most likely make educated people its role model and hero. On the flip side, society where there is no regard for education would care less about the education of its role model and heroes. Consequently, these heroes and role models become the face of the society and show forth the values which the society upholds. A child who has the aspiration of becoming the president of his or her country will do so on the foundation of the societal values. If he or she doesn't conform to the values of the society, the society will reject such a person to become the number one citizen of the society.

Further, the character of men and women are their trueselves. The collective character of a society represent the character of individual persons which make up the society. A society is a group of people bonded by the same values and ideals. A society will always want their reflection to be seen in their role models, leaders and heros. For example, a black society will appreciate a person who fights for the cause of racism because it is a commonality to the balck community. An Igbo man from the Eastern part of Nigeria will appreciate and endorse someone who is business-oriented to be their leader becaus they appreciate the business. They will generally accept such a person to embody the values and ideals of their people. Research has consistently shown that perhaps, above all other factors, people vote and endorse someone they can recognize their society values with. No one will allow themselves to be led or influence or even consider modelling them if they do not find what they have in common.

Of course, some argue that the role models, leaders and heros may change and uphold values that are not in line with the society values they represent citing that people change: as change is a constant thing. However, this does not hold true as more often than not, leaders and heros are the product of the society they represent as well as the values and ideals of the society. The likelihood of them changing derailing from the societal values and ideals they were brought up with is next to zero. Therefore, the society produce heros and role models that reflect and represent what the society stands for.