The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Quantifying the greatness of a person is a function of the impact such a great has on others. In fact, the greatness of a person is deirectly proportional to the lives touched by that person. The prompt says the greatness of individual can be decided only by those after him or her and not by their contemporaries and I mostly agree with this prompt for the following reasons.

Firstly, greatness is a transgenerational phenomena and not a momentary one. To regard one as being great, such a person msut have affected the lives of those after him. For example, Martin Luther King Jnr. being on the activist aginst racial prejudice in America was regarded as being great because the cause he fought was transcended his generation and the effect of his activism is still seen and felt today by this generation. Without any doubt, his fight for the blacks has earned him such title as the greatest activist for the black community. His "I have a dream" speech during the movement has also been considered has one of the greatest freedom speech in history. To consider a thing or person as being great, one has to quantify its effect on the generation(s) after.

Furthermore, in deciding the greatness of an individual, one has to decide if the work of such person is successful. Success is a key determinant of greatness. If an individual can successfully do a great thing, such person will be considered as a great person. However, more often than not, true greatness can not be realized in one life time. It is diificult for someone to realize the full extent of anyone's greatness ina life time. For example, Isaac newton, one of the greatest scientist that ever lived posited the principles of flight, motion to mention but few. The working principles of aircrafts and automobiles among many are based on the principles of these principles. Isaac Neewton in his lifetime would never have thought that such magnificent creation will be as a result of the principles he posited. Many atimes, great individuals do not get to the effect the their greatest but the generations ahead will which makes them the judge of the individual's greatness.

Finally, many believe that the extent of ones's greatness is determined by the lives of their contemporaries they have touched. This might be true but such a greatness quantified by the individual's contemporaries will never exceed the generation of such contemporaries. The above reason explains the reasons greatness of an individual be quantified and decided by the generation and not the contemporaries