The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The council of maple county concludes that by putting a measure that stops the development of houses in the county, houses price will increase substantially. While the conclusion may be true, as it stands now, the argument will have to answer these three questions in order to make the argument sound and hold water.

The decision of the county is based on the assumption that the development of the county farmland is significant so much so that a restriction has to be put in place. Before this can be asserted, the county has to answer if the development of Maple conty is quantifiable. What if the county is underdeveloped or the county's development is actually declining? Will development restriction put in place be effective? What if the residnets of the county do not want the restriction? Are the residents willing to accept the restrictions on development.

Another assumptions that the prediction of the council is based on is the comparison of Maple county to Chestnut County. Before this comparison can be made, the concil will have to justify the similarities between th two counties. Are the counties similar in terms of housing scheme and structure. Are the prices of the houses in both counties the same before the restrictions were effected in both counties? What if the prices of houses in Chestnut county is significantly higher than Maple's? Under what condition were the restriction measures placed in Chestnut county? Are the conditions the same for Maple county? These questions if not answered are able to render the conclusion of the council of Maple county invalid

Furthermore, the prices of houses is increase by the demand for houses. The council of Maple county assumes that the population of Maple conty is high enough to cause the demand for houses increase which in turn will cause the prices to increase. What if the population of Maple county is small and the houses are more than enough for the residents of county. It could be that there are houses that are not habited by the residents of the county. If these questions are unaswered, the prediction of the county council holds no water.

Examining all these questions involved in the council prediction, It can be seen that the council prediction is rife with holes and assumptions and are not strong enough to make a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.