Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

The claim that society's character is revealed by the characters of the role models and heroes that society praises is vague and erratic, so examining their characters is not the best way to study their society character.

Society lionizes a person it believes has brought an opulent recognition, upliftment or progress of its stature. Mostly, these heroes were capable to do an exceptional achievement most of the people are incapable to do, so it is a biased to suggest that their characteristics reflect the whole society characteristics. For instance, Rosa Parks was able to broke the roles and make a significant change in her society. She became a hero after she refused to give up her seat on the bus to a white passenger, it was the law that time, she got arrested, as result, which sparked the black people's boycott of the bus system, ending with a supreme court sentence of banning the segregation on public transportation. Undoubtedly, her courage and strength what was lacking for many black people in her society, so we can't state that daring and courageous are some of her society's characteristics.

Furthermore, role models and heroes are not always praised by the whole society. Society consists of a diversity of classes, each has its own values and principles, a person could be considered as an idol for some people, others might disgrace him. Also, media and people with the power play a vital role in formulating role models and heroes by spotting the lights on specific people and create phenomena out of them, in contrary, many might be ignored while they have a magnanimous achievement. For example, Hitler was approved by many people in his society, disgraced by many at the same time, but mostly afraid to admit it.

Society considers someone a role model for his achievement, not his character. The lives of famous artists, actors, athletics, and politicians are full of scandals and controversies, it is unacceptable to make a general statement about the society by their immoral activities. For instance, Maradona, an idol in soccer, was drug-addicted for many years, he is still an idol for his fans. Beethoven, Picasso, and Van Gogh were habitually drunks, however, they still idols.

Therefore, trying to understand the society characteristics only by its heroes and idols are prone unjustified and irrational. society is very diverse to judge by individuals characters.