Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sur

Education is a vital aspect of building the individual personality and widen his perspectives along with enriching his knowledge in many areas, that is why universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Universities' students should not be just an adherent to their field of study, in contrast, they should have a decent knowledge in a variety of subjects.

Most Universities' students lack the sufficient knowledge to decide their field of study; they might not take into consideration all of the aspects when making their decisions. For example, many parents persuade their children to study specific field according to their dreams and expectations. Also, many students choose their field depending on their interests and future dreams, neglecting their learning abilities. Here comes the importance of this suggestion, to widen the student's perspectives, and to open his eyes to other fields and subjects which he might find his self more fitted in.

Thus, while many people may argue that requiring the student to take some courses outside his field of study will waste the students and the university time and efforts, in contrast, this will save the student's time and effort. When the student takes a variety of courses which make him decides to change his major at the beginning of his journey, instead of being struggling for years to earn a degree which does not satisfy his passions or dreams, even more, he might think about a career change after all.

Moreover, the overlapping between sciences is flourishing recently. Many universities have a double major or joint degree, where students take courses in two different areas to match his interest. Even if the student is not interested in presuming in more than one major, boarding his horizon on other fields spark his curiosity about the collaboration between the different sciences to provoke their development. Also, many students will employ the new information they learned in these courses to create innovative ideas in their fields.

Also, university life should not strain students mind on one subject, students may have different interests or hobbies that they would like to promote, giving students opportunity to explore other areas than his field will free their minds and spirits. For instance, students may have interest in music, poetry, health, and nutrition or even environmental issues, taking courses in these areas will raise their awareness in such issues, and produce a civilized, educated and aware university graduates who would play a vital role in the society.

In conclusion, while requiring university students to study more courses outside their fields may require more effort and time, it is pivotal to their educational progress, since universities wide areas of study is a great opportunity for students to enrich their knowledge.