Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

A society is formed when group of individuals civilized their living with rules and values. Thus an individual delineates the characteristics of the society in which he/she belongs to. Therefore, the author here claims that the best way to understand the character of the society is dependent on the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or role models. The reason that the author stated here is that the heroes and role models reveals a society's highest ideals, which seems persuasive.

Society can be categorized based on various parameters such as economic class, broadness of thoughts, culture, rules and restrictions the people must follow and so on. These factors can be prioritize to assure the standardization of that society. Each person belonging to a society needs to straggle a lot to pursue these factors in order to be a part of it. For instance, in Indian society cows are considered to be god and killing it is proclaimed to a sinful gesture and the society will boycott the one who dare to do this.

Heroes and role models are the idealistic personalities that people admire and wish to follow the path of their role models. If a society. They are the common people who do the best by respecting the principles of the society. Hence, their work appreciated by the society which help them to become the source of inspiration for others.

In conclusion, heroes and role models are the emblems of the characters of the society whose virtues and values reflects the principles of the society in which they belong.