Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals

Society is a term which means the collection of people where everyone is inter-related and inter-connected. That’s why characteristics of the society reflect the customs, moral values and life-style of the people. In the statement author claimed that only some heroes or role models can represent the total characteristics of the society which is unambiguously unreasonable.

First of all, in every states there are people from different regions and each region has some distinct cultural and social trends. A hero or a role model will not be able to convey the characteristics that are from different parts of the states. Rather he will exhibit the characteristics of the region where he was grown up. For example, India is one of the largest countries of the world and the characteristics of the different regions differ largely from one another such as most of the inhabitants of Kolkata are illiterate and farmers where the inhabitants of the capital Delhi are more advanced. So, a role model from the Delhi can’t represent the whole nation because there are many differences in visions, obstacles and achievement among the people of the different regions.

Secondly, role model is a person who is more developed, advanced in his thinking, achievement from other denizens of the society. That’s why rest of the people of the society follow him which indicates that there is a lucid gap between them and the role model. Hence, the role model can’t represent the whole society. For example, Kazi Nazrul Islam is national poet of Bangladesh and a role model of the nation. In his contents, he tried to make people aware of the corruption and he was also against the dogmatic religious believes but it is sad that most of the people of the country rear values that are completely contradictory.

Finally, the characteristics of the society don’t remain steady rather they are dynamic and change with passage of time. As a result, the role model can’t reflect the characteristics of the society forever. For example, Bangabondhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman who is considered as the father of the nation, always dreamed a country where people of all professions, religions will have equal rights for which he dedicated his life. But it is sad that after his death the whole nation get changed which causes severe discriminations to the minorities and poor people of the society.

In summary, from the above analysis and examples it is unambiguous that the characteristics of the society can’t be revealed only by examining the role models of the society.