People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

There are many factors that work to form the behavior such as family, society, friends, school, religion his /her own judgment etc. But no factor solely control the behavior of a single person. These same factors work differently on different persons. So, it is very difficult to reach into a firm conclusion about people’s behavior. Here I mostly disagree with the statement that people’s behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making for some reasons and I am going to explain them.

First of all, people are social animal. Society is not just a collection of people, because everyone here is inter-related and inter-connected. Everyone is influenced by others in some way. That means society has a great impact on us. But, all the people of society don’t act in the same way when they face the same situation. That means they are analyzing the situation and taking decision to act according to their own thinking. For example, although the children of a same family get the same environment and influence from their parents, their behavior will never be exactly same in future. It is because of their choice and their preference. One of them may become very good student, responsible to family and very dear to parents and another may become very careless and carousal. That means people’s behavior is not largely determined by its surroundings. Though there are many factors which are influencing him, he is the only decision maker of how he is going to shape his behavior.

Secondly, one can argue that the people’s behavior is not something rigid or unchangeable. people of one society may become changed when come to contact with another society. Here, it seems that the external forces by the new society change the people. But, it’s not the real case. People can accept the good trends from other society consciously to become a better one. In the same way people can change themselves by learning lesson from their mistakes. Once again this learning process is a conscious one which related to own decision.

In summary, from the above analysis and examples we can conclude that people’s behavior is not largely determined by forces not of their own making. External factors might play an important role to influence one’s behavior, but, finally its ones thinking which led the path to shape behavior.