Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

In this modern world, what we understand as a political leader is a representative of the people who always remain active to serve the nation. In democratic states, people select the leaders and leaders always try to satiate the demand of people. That’s why, there are two groups of people, one of them believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives. Here, I mostly agree with the second group that a leader should be committed to principles and objectives.

First of all, people always want a leader who is an honest, sensitive and good human being. If the character of the leader is not good people will not trust him and vote him to elect as a leader. For example in 2007 election of Bangladesh, BNP, the ruling party was defeated very badly because most of the leaders were corrupted highly. They managed to get only 30 seats within 300 seats though they were one of the most popular political party of Bangladesh. That means people want a leader who always maintains his principles.

Secondly, in most of the country people are divided according to their demands. For example, young people of the state want the job security, more industries, again another portion of the society will oppose the idea saying that more industries will be detrimental to environment. Again, there are also discriminatory factors such as racism, minority issue based on religion. In that case, if a leader want to satiate the one major portion the population, other portion will be deprived. That’s why the leader should be neutral and he should work for the whole nation without any discrimination based on religion, power. For example, in 2000 the hindu’s were about the 8 percent of the total population. But, after 5 years of tyranny on hindu people, they became only 2 percent of total population. It is because leaders helped local muslims to snatch hindu’s land and property. By doing so, leaders tried to please the muslims, because they were the biggest portion of the population. This phenomenon indicates the necessity of leaders who will remain neutral for all and always maintain his ethics.

Finally, sometimes leaders need to go against the public opinion for the noble cause. Public are not always right and concerned about their immediate demands. That’s why true leaders need to show them the right path for the betterment of the country. For example, Abraham Lincoln fought against major portion of the American to eliminate slavery. At first, people opposed him and Abraham Lincoln didn’t leave the mission. Finally, people understood that Lincoln was right. In that way, gradually he became successful to eliminate slavery from America.

In summary, from the above analysis and examples it is clear that political leaders must be committed to principles. Without being committed to principles, a leader can’t serve the nation in a fair way.