Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future

The development of a country is dependent on how efficiently the government is making decision and tackling the problem. In most of the states of the world, ruling political party is elected by the people of the country through voting. Generally, the people elect the party which precisely concern about the problems of the society. So, I mostly agree with the statement that government should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

First of all, the success of a government is relied on the how efficiently it can meet the needs of the public and solve the ongoing problems. If the government don’t focus on the ongoing problems, a rage against the government will rise in the people and gradually they will start to lose trust from the government. As a result, government can not successfully run it’s long term projects to solve the anticipated problems. For example, Bangladesh is low income developing country and people here are suffering from malnutrition, unemployment, unhygienic water. Government should focus on solving these immediate fundamental problems of the country. Unfortunately, Bangladesh govt. is more concerned with unnecessary infrastructural such as construction of excess express way, flyover due to their own purpose rather than for the sake of the people. Consequently, people lost their trust from the government which causes an unstable situation in the country hampering the economical development of the country. From this phenomenon is is lucid that the government should give priority to the immediate basic problems rather than long term anticipated problems.

Secondly, government should not spend much more time money behind the anticipated problems because they may get changed with the passage of time. The plans or solutions that are granted by the government may not work perfectly. For example, Bangladesh government has spent a huge amount of money on launching its first satellite Bangabandhu satellite while the people of the country are dying for the lack of lawful justices . But, after a year of launching govt. make only a few deals for utilizing the satellite and giving services which indicates that this satellite became an white elephant of the country.

Finally, the government should take strong long term plans to alleviate the ongoing problems forever not the anticipated one. However, anticipated problems such as environment pollution, green house effect should be considered seriously but not more than the ongoing problems. Furthermore, Govt. should take balanced steps to solve both the immediate and anticipated problems so that next generation can have a good future .

In summary, from the above analysis and examples it is completely unambiguous that Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.