People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it

In a society, everyone has their own thoughts, perceptions about different fields such as society, politics, educational systems. People of the society develop these ideas through their entire lives by scrutinizing from different point of views. That’s why it seems paradoxical that the people who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it and I mostly disagree with the statement.

Frist of all, people become deeply committed to an idea after exploring the validity of the concepts in different cases. That means people critically analyze the concepts and then accept it according to its validity. For example, in field of scientific research, at first scientists assumes bunch of probable hypothesis to explain a phenomenon. After a lot of experiments, scientists become able to reach into the final hypothesis and this hypothesis is established as a fact. Hence, there is no way for the scientist to be most critical of the fact that is established by him after lot of critical analysis.

Secondly, in some cases, people need to be competent in the ideas in which they believe in. For example, in case of politics, leaders need to be obstinate in their ideas. A leader should not change his ideas or most critical of the ideas in which he believes in otherwise he will lose the support from the public. Abraham Lincoln, a great leader in American history was very assiduous about the idea of eradicating slavery from the society. As a result, he became successful to solve the problem through his commitment to the idea although he faced severe protest. Abraham Lincoln never would become successful if he would become critical of his idea.

Finally, one can’t hold the respect to an idea forever if he finds flaws in this idea and become critical of it. Consequently, he will not be deeply committed to this idea rather he will develop him through further analysis and evaluation. Thus people advance in all fields of their lives. For example, the trends of the society change with the passage of the time. Once people believe into the dogmatic religious traditions to recover themselves from the illness but with the development of science and technology people now understand that they were wrong and they abdicate the perceptions.

In summary, from the aforementioned analysis and examples it is lucid that people who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are not the most critical of it.