The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority

What we understand as a society is a collection of people where everyone is inter-connected and inter-dependent with each other. Hence, the well-being of society means the well-being of all the people of society. If the people of society don’t have any authoritative right to question the authority, there will be less possibility to progress the society in a balanced way. So, I strongly agree with the statement that the well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question the authority.

First of all, in this modern world, almost all the states are democratic states. In democratic states leaders are elected by the people of the society and leaders are bound to meet the needs of the people according to laws. That means people have authoritative power to question authority. If people don’t practice the authoritative power, gradually leaders will use the power for their own sake and become corrupted. For example, in Bangladesh, most of the people of our country are illiterate and they don’t know how to use their authoritative power and claim their constitutional demands. That’s why, most of the leaders of political parties are corrupted. Consequently, general public of the country suffer most.

Secondly, If the people don’t question the action of authority, leaders will control everything in their own accord. That means leaders will become dictators. As a result, people will become powerless element of the society and they have to maintain all commands given by the authority whether these are good for the people or not. For example, In Russia, people don’t have good government medical service and jobs for the young people but, Russian government spend huge portion of its budget in defense sector. It is because people of Russia are not allowed to question the authority for their action taken. As a result, people are suffering by losing their authoritative power.

Finally, It is never possible for an authority to take decision that will be one hundred percent perfect from all sides. In that case, people of the society can led the path to take the right decision in right time by questioning the authority. For example, in Bangladesh, recently people showed the rage against the government for not taking any strict action against smugglers. Later, government permit Rapid action battalion to take special mission against the smugglers which results in a lucid decrease in smuggling and drug dealing.

From the above analysis and examples, it is unambigous that the well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.