Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

It is indeed important but difficult to understand the character of a society as whole. A character itself is subjective, and can be classsified in multiple ways, and given it varies from person to person, understanding the character of society is arduous task. The author suggest an approach i.e., to analyze the character of the heros of the society, as these are the highest ideals for the society. One chooses an ideal or hero based on their aspirations. However, the aspirations and reality does not often coincide. One may chose and aspire to become like someone but practise completely different idoelogy. The most common example is of daydreamers, who aspire to become successful like many entreprenur or sportsperson who have worked tirelessly to achive success. The daydreamers keeps dreaming to become like them rather than working to horn their skill, and work hard to achive success like their heros.

Besides, the public display of one's character, especially of public figures, need not be the same in private life. Thus, analyzing the chracter of heros can be misleading if these selected role models are great at P.R., as public perception of their character will greatly vary from their real character. There is a long list where a completely different characterstics of these heros were discovered and the same people who use to idealized them, booed them.

Many a times heros are selected based on a spefic trait in them and society need not idealize thier complete character. This is often the case with sportstar or filmstar who are celebrated for their role specific reason, and people may not be really interested to become like them. Thus, analyzing the character of these heros and correlating them with the society's character will be errorneous.

Thus, the suggestion to analyze the character of heros of the society to understand the character of the society itself has several underlying assumption which seriously challenges the claim.