The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The council of Maple country is debating on a proposal to prevent development of the existing farmland, due to the concern of overdevelopment of the nation. The debate is based on whether the proposal will lead to significant increase in the housing prices or not. Based on the arguments presented by the supporters and opponents of the proposal, the council presently believes that housing price will significantly increase if the proposal is implemented. A couple of questins need to be answered before reaching to conclusion on the prediction made by the council.

The opponents of the proposed measure cites the example of Pine country, where the similar measure was implemented fifteen years ago has lead to double the cost of housing since then. However, the increase in the price and implementation of the ban maybe mere coincident. The price of the housing may have increased due to various other factors, which need to be eliminated to reach to the conclusion that the price increased due to implementation of the measure. Firstly, was the proposed measure actually implemented in the Pine country. If the proposed measure was never implemented at ground level, having or not such measure would make no difference, as houses kept on being built even when measure was officially implemented. Thus attributing the rise in housing price with proposed measure is fallacious. The same question arises for the Chestnut country.

Secondly, comes the question of the demand. It is important to learn about the demand for the housing in past fifteen years in Pine country and for past ten years in Chestnut country. The rise in the housing price in Pine country may be due to surge in population from higher fertility rate or increase in immigration due to government's policy shift. The increase in the population will lead to higher demand for the housing and similarly other commodities and will lead to surge in pricing. Similarly, the rise in the economy affects the purchasing power of the poeple and that leads to rise in the price. The other economic factors as easy home loans can also create impact. Thus, it is important to understand how the economy has behaved to discern what actually lead to rise in prices. Similarly, it is important ot learn about the population change of the Chestnut country, it may happen that the popluation would have decreased due to bad political scenario in the nation, or better opportunity in other countries have made people to migrate. The deacrese in population will lower the demand for the houses, and thus limit the increase or can lead to decrease in the housing prices. The economic slowdown due to failure of one of prominent sectors in the country can inhibit the purchasing power of peole, leading to limited increase in housing prices. Thus, it is imortant to learn about the population, economy, and other factors that influence the demand for the houses.

It is also important to learn about the status of the availaility of the houses prior to implementation of the proposed measure in the two countries. It may happen that there was already cruch of houses and backlog was running high for houses and implementation has worsened the scenario. While in other case it may happen that there were excess of houses built and thus when the proposed measure was implemented, the already built houses satisfied the demand for long duration, thus limiting the rise int he prices.

These questions need to answered before reaching to the conclusion, whether the prediction made by the council of the Maple country are reasonble.