Universities and colleges should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach

The author suggests implementation of a new policy, under which all the faculty memebers at different colleges and universites will be required to work as professionals, rather than being confined to academic environment.

Faculty members working outside the academic world, will help them be updated with the current world. The industries or corporates definately have better understanding of the current demands, and working with them, the faculty members can gain this knowledge. This will help them keep the curriculum updated according to the requirement. Thus, the students graduating will be better equipped to tackle the challenges, which will be beneficial for the students as well as companies.

Besides, working as professionals will provide faculities with more networking opportuinities. This will help in building strong academia-industry collaboration. The stronger collaboration would help both industries as well as academic institutions to better reap benefit from each others expertise in the same domain. The academic institutions can extend their extensive fundamental knowledge and research facilities to companies, and companies can provide academic institutions with the funding.

The proposed policy can draw criticism from the time perpective. The faculty members working in professions outside academic world will require them to dedicate significant amount of time. This would either create budden on them, or will effect their work in academic world, i.e., either happering their teaching or reasech. This can addressed by increasing the number of faculty positions. The ratio between the number of available faculty position and PhD graduating is significantly high, thus there is no scarcity of the required skill set. The additional faculty position will increase the spending of the universities, but implementation of this would lead to significant increase in funding from industry. Besides, the leave granted to faculty memebers to work as proffesionals need not be fully paid, as they would be earning from their work in outside environment.

I would support author's recommendation of new policy to make it compulsory for faculty memebers to work as profesionals outside academic setting, in relevant feild.