To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The author states that one must study the major cities, if they want to understand the important characteristics of a society. What comprises of important characteristics of a society is subjective, and varies from person to person. The important characterstics of societry can be defined in terms of socio-economy, social harmony, political ideology, openess to ebrace changes, core values and traditions, and many others.

If one considers the values and traditions upon which the socitey has been built over a long period of time, then studying the countryside is of prime importance. The traditions and values are better preserved and more valued in countryside. While the major cities are higly influcened by other societies across the globe in this highly interconnected world.

While the major cities comprises of people from all walks of life and provides the opportunity to study the different groups, based on socio-economic divison, political aligness, religious belief, proffesions and more. The presence of people from wide spectrum of categories provides with the opportunity to understand the social harmony, openness to other's views. Besides, the presence of people from all walks of life, provides opportunity to study the complete spectrum of the society. In political terms from far-most left to far-most right. In ecomonic perspective, from left leaning to right. Similarly, in terms of religious beliefs from atheist to highly religious. The another important characterstics that can be studied is readiness to accept change, given the fast changing world and being higly connected, it is important ot learn how quickly society embraces change.

Thus, studying the major cities is of prime importance to understand the characterstics of a society. However, in doing so the importance of studying the countryside can not be neglected. Besides, comparing the difference in traditions in countryside and major cities provides better understanding of openess of society to embrace change.