Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A range of examples could be provided to suppot the argument that most of the discoveries are accidental in nature. One of the recent that lead to advancment of graphene, for which the two professors recieved the prestrigious noble prize in physics. It happened by accident that a tape got stuck on graphite they were studing, and when they pulled it, they observed a thin layer of graphite got stuck to the tape. They dilluted the tape and found the graphite to have single atomic layer thickness. The process to obtain a single atomic layer thickness graphite was tedious, required sopisticated instruments and was costly prior to this incident. This invention kicked off the usage of graphene for wide range of applications, from heat transfer enhancement, to armoured suits. There are several such examples, but the key here is, the findings simply did not airdropped, rather the scientists were working to understand some physical phenomenon, or to develop some system. Given the interdependece of physical phenomenons in nature, it is no suprise to land on a different discovery while working for somethig else.

However, stating these discoveries as mere accident undermines the effort by the scientific community at large. These so called accidents also did not happen at first, it took at while and after commiting several mistakes and learning from them lead to these discoversies. Besides, accidents leads to phenomenon, but the discovery needs effort to understand them and develop on them. This can be illustrated from the previous example, yes sticking of tape on graphite was accident, however it was interest of the proffesors to analyze the material sticking to the tape that made them to dillute the tape and do scientific anlysis of the material that lead to the discovery.

While a large number of incidents can be recalled were the discoveries were made while searching for answer to another phenomenon, a large number of problems solved are result of approach to solve the specific problem.

The dicoveries made are result of the quest for the knowldge and calling them simply undermines the effort. Besides, the accidents do not happen at first, to reach to these accidents takes hundreds of other mistakes and learning from them, and these accidents does not directly results in discovery.