Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.Reason: College students—like people in general—prefer to follow directions rat

I would really disagree with the above statement in which the author mentioned above "Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students".

Firstly every indivudual should come up with different fields and different different ideas to succed in life for that the elective courses must be there. For example consider a software and hardware, its one own interest to become what he want do in their future. many countries like america ,japan,china are following this type of education for their graduated people,this is helping them in their countries development as well as their economic standard is also increasing based on their encouragement

Comming to the secondary,if we provide same study then every indivudual will prepare only for that particular course offered by the university .and there will be no automation in development feild of study. this will bring out a dramastic change in the countries improvement and also their economy will get a huge downfall. The main important thing is without an automation the countries wont develop their respective feild, For example consider germany ,germany is a very gud source company for mechanical feild this brings them the good automation and motive towardstheir respective field.

And yes i would really agree that they also need some required courses to to know the base or foundation ,this will bring them the confidence about the study of particular subject For example consider electronics and computers it is compulsory that every indivuvudal must compulsory know about the basics of electronics as well as computers.they also come to know about the current technology trend in the country,this would bring out them the exact figure of what they want to become.

I wouldn't agree with the authors point because it is neccesary that we should learn the basics and also the field of intreste For example let us consider technology and some language it is neccesary to learn the technology as well as the language beacuse both play the major role in the society.

If the univerisites provide the same all required courses to their students ,then i mean while time the technology may changes time to time based on that the students cannot grab their intrest to the particular technology and this would dramastically become the reason for their countries downfall. For example consider many countries technology is changing day by day there should be a need that every body should be able to grab the attention towards their technology changes in the society ,this would be only possible with elective courses.

finally i would like to conclude that every university should offer the elective courses along with their required courses to develop their countries economic feild and also their growth in the society.