Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim stating that young people are often told to follow their dreams as dreams are inhenrently selfish is generalising the statement that they should be picking worthy goals. I disagree with the given claim and reason as each dream is unique to a specific individual and comparing it with "worthy goals" is tearing the dream apart in the first place.

Every person has different ambitions and hence we cannot standardise what can be termed as worthy and what can be termed as unworthy. Having selfish dreams is also not a necessarily bad trait as long as that it doesnt interefere with somebody else's well-being. For instance, a person's journey to heal spiritually in private need not be selfish. It can simply be termed as being reserved. If working towards one's goals is termed as selfish, then at some point of time everyone is guilty of being selfish atleast once in their lifetime.

Dreams are a part of your subconscious mind and hence it is not impertive that every dream is centered around attainbale targets. We often forget that many of us do not even have control over our dreams. Many pyschologists are yet to understand what triggers dreams and what are the implications of such dreams. Negative and positive thoughts are a reflection of what a person has gone through in a day or in a given period of time. Basing goals on these dreams is not a correct measure of achieving a goal whether intellectual, moral, social or financial.

Having said that, these young people are future leaders of the nation. If they do not see their goals as achievable, they may lose all hope for the cause. Therefore, we must encourage selflessness amongst the youth. This thought will carry a heavy weight on their conscience and changes can be seen around us basis what they want to follow.

In conclusion, one should follow their dreams based on what goal they have in mind rather than forming worthy goals beforehand and then working selfishly towards it.