Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

I agree with the first statement that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. In the long run, this will enable us to produce a moral society of strong and independent individuals who are empathetic towards the needs of others and upload high values.

Usually, this is considered to be an utopian concept, but such an ambitious goal can be achieved if education imparts moral lessons at every stage. There are numerous studies that show children replicate behaviour of others from a very young age. If parents, teachers and peers alike follow the value system, then there are increased chances for the child too to follow suit.

Logical reasoning is also an important factor for the overall development of the society but it is a skill which can be learnt at a later stage. Logical reasoning and deductive reasoning come handy to solve the real life problems of society. While making us adept at problem solving, it cannot help us distinguish between right and wrong. Morals, on the hand are the base on which the education system relies on. Right from pre-school fables to special courses for college freshmen, moral lessons are necessary for being well-rounded individuals.

Thus, educational institutes and other policy making bodies should consider altering the syllabi if moral education is not yet included. There can be an option to create a mix of logical reasoning as well as moral values classes. Doing this will produce thinkers and leaders for a moral society. For instance, in some Scandinavian countries, moral lessons are imparted right from nursery till the time the education of the child is completed. Parents also play an integral role for teaching their children the do's and dont's of a moral society. We can also take the example of Japan to show that when logical reasoning is combined with moral lessons then the country works in tandem.

Therefore, teaching morality should be the foundation of education.