A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The facts given in the argument are incomplete and do not present a full view of the given situation. Further information is needed to draw meaningful conclusions.

Firstly, it is given that children living in the suburban region in the United States have more tooth decays than children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal. Instead of dental care, maybe the kind of food consumed in these areas can give us an indication of why such a discrepancy is taking place. It is possible that children in suburban areas are consuming more starchy or sugary food than children living in mountain regions. This invariably is causing teeth to decay faster.

Secondly, there might be some ancient and home remedies available from plants and herbs of the Himalayan region to the children of Nepal to boost oral hygiene which may not be readily available to children of the United States. For example, "Neem" leaves are commonly found in Nepal and are used as a tongue cleaner after meals. In United States, dental floss is a preferred means to remove leftover food from the mouth. A difference of habits and methods may be the reason why regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Thirdly, absence of regulated and professional dental care in Nepal might be a reason that people have no records to measure how frequently dentists are visited. Thus, it might seem that people in Suburban United States see a dental care professional more. This may not truly indicate if regular dental care is helpful in preventing tooth decay or not.

Other causes such as genetics are nowhere mentioned in the argument which could indicate whether regular dental care is beneficial or there are some other factors involved. Hence, more information is needed to evaluate the facts mentioned in the given statements.