An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia — the scent of lavender flowers — has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The arguments states that a traditional remedy for insomnia has now been proved effective but fails to prove its efficacy. More information is needed to evaluate the argument further.

Firstly, the argument states that in a recent study there were 30 volunteers. But, it is not mentioned if this sample size is justified or not. No information on the population size is given. It may be possible that this sample size of 30 volunteers is not representative of the large pool of insomnia patients. Conducting a study on a very small sample population will lead to wrong inferences being drawn and compromise the objective of the study. Other factors such as genetics, gender, age etc are also not specifed anywhere. For an impartial study, the voulnteers should be heterogenous so that meaningful conslusions can be drawn.

Secondly, we do not know for sure about the side effects of the sleeping medication. In the first and second week of the study, the volunteers were feeling tired after waking up. We cannot rule out the effects of the sleeping medication on these insomnia patients without complete informatiom. Maybe in the third week, some particpants continued the sleeping medication but its effects started to wear off. In such a case more evidence is needed to prove the results of the study. Nothing about the dosage of the medicine is also stated in the argument. If the volunteers are already taking a stong dosage of sleeping medication, then the secnt of lavneder will prove to be futile to make them fall asleep.

Thirdly, there are no other factors mentioned about the volunteers in the study. We do not know for a fact if they were feeling tired in the third week too or not. Furthermore, no information is given on the workout patterns and eating habits of the volunteers which have a direct correlation with the sleep of a person at night. If the volunteers were physically exerted, then they will automatically feel tired and sleepy at night. Thus, the scent of lavender will serve no purpose even in a controlled environment. Similary, eating more will lead to more sleep and eating less will lead to starvation and less sleep. Another factor which should be taken into account is their sleep during the day-even for a few minutes.

Hence, the scent of lavneder may not be the most effective way to make insomnia patients fall asleep until further information is not revealed. .