These days, more and more people move away from the area where they were born and brought up when they become adults.

Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is certainly the case in my local area that many young people choose to leave their home village or town as soon as they finish college or when they first get full-time employment. There are several advantages to this. Firstly, it gives the individuals better opportunities to find more suitable jobs. This means they have much greater flexibility in the careers they can choose and are no longer forced to take the work available in the local area. A second benefit is that they have the chance to meet and work alongside a wider variety of people, which enriches their social and professional lives. Another relevant point is that moving to a place where they are anonymous allows people greater freedom to behave as they wish, without worrying about what those around them think. However, there are a number of drawbacks to this development, the most serious being loss of support. It is important for humans to feel that they are part of a community and can rely on family and friends for help, on a day-to-day basis. In a place where individuals know few people it is easy to become isolated and lonely. Related to this point is the fact that when people know very little about their neighbours, it is hard for mutual trust to develop. When people have lived in the same place or village all their lives, their personal and family backgrounds are widely known and this information can help others make reliable judgements, building personal and business relationships. On balance, I feel that this trend brings more negative outcomes than advantages and that it is leading to real problems of isolation and erosion of identity.