Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In today's era, the advent of technology has played a vital role in bringing about a change in the way we consume information. With faster internet speed, cheap data plans, easy access to material the world indeed has become a smaller place.

Usage of internet has surged in this fourth industrial revolution after becoming popular during the dot com bubble. Now, we can read newspapers, subscribe to magazines, share message forwards at the click of a button. This has led to decreased attention span for many people. With this plethora of information, one is not able to fully comprehend the matter being discussed as the focus has shifted to being more relevant. The focus should be on quality not quantity of information being generated and consumed. In the long run, this will enable us concentrate on imperative matters appropriately.

Most media companies now operate 24x7 news channels as previously compared to certain time slots for news broadcasting on a particular channel. Even though more information is being sent out, is it really having a positive effect on the viewer? Similarly, radio shows and other mass media channels are putting out too much content, in fear of competition but the essence of the content is lost. Even the most adept learners will be puzzeled in this maze. If only the most relevant information were to be shared, then we could have seen an encouraging result in terms of data comprehension.

Even though, sorting through large quantities of information and finding what's important can help in improving knowledge of a particular individual, the correctness of facts is of utmost importance. Regular checks by the concerned authorities should take place if not already initiated to ensure that no fake information is being circulated. At the same time, one should be wary of the source of the information.

In this globalised world, the internet has brought us together by bridging gaps in communication. Keeping ourselves in check about the information we consume has become more important so that we do not compromise on our attention span and learning ability.